A way of being: Zen

An online dictionary defines zen as: “a total state of focus that incorporates a total togetherness of body and mind”.  The brains at Asus determined Zen to be the harmonious balance between portability and usability; which is incorporated into their latest ‘thin’ laptop, the Asus Zenbook UX31E.

Yes, that’s right, this year, TWO-O-ONE-TWO is the year where I get a new laptop.  My previous laptop, the Compaq Presario V3000 series with Core2Duo processors has served me for 4 years.  Thank you so much for not dying on me.  I love you!

IMG_2784
Behold! The arrival of the mighty Zen.
IMG_2787
Here’s the specification stated on the box. See anything you like?
IMG_2792
I’ve tried Acer, Dell, Compaq and HP before, and this is my very first ASUS. Yay me!
IMG_2791
The box that holds the zen unit looks very mysterious in black.
IMG_2795
First look of the contents inside. The zenbook metallic shine is hard to miss.
IMG_2843
Included is a high quality pouch that looks and feels classy.
IMG_2850
The power adaptor that is included. Strangely, the Windows 7 Home Premium genuine sticker has placed on the adaptor and not the notebook itself.
IMG_2852
The VGA and HDMI ports require these adapters to function. Asus inclulded a smaller pouch that is similar to the notebook’s pouch. Good thing I don’t use external VGA and HDMI very often.
IMG_2800
The Asus Zenbook UX31E…  in its metallic smooth shell, accommodating the powerful computer components within, and weighs a feather-light 1.3kg.
IMG_2804
Measuring only 3mm on the front and 9mm on the back.
IMG_2812
I really love the hairline spun metal finish with concentric circle! ❤
IMG_2814
Here’s how the Zenbook looks. Sleek and smooth metallic look and finely crafted aluminium construction makes it easy to carry while retaining strength and durability.
IMG_2819
The sign says: “UX31 Series Ultra Slim”
IMG_2825
The anodized metal keys of the Zenbook.
IMG_2821
Under the hood: The latest 2nd generation Intel Core i7 processor.
IMG_2824
Asus has teamed up with the team at Bang & Olufsen to produce the incredible audio for a laptop this small in size.
IMG_2838
This was the real reason why I chose the Zenbook UX31E. The SATA3 SSD (Solid-State-Harddrive) that boast up to read/write speeds of up till 450MB/seconds. This out beats most ultra notebooks which has read/write speeds of only up till 200MB/sec, or a normal hard disk with only 90MB/sec.
IMG_2860
Check this out, impressive Windows 7 boot-up time of only 2.1 seconds!

There is, however, one thing that I did not like about the Zenbook.  Of all the places they decided to place the Power Button, they had to choose the position in which the Delete key is normally pressed.  Therefore, a few times, I accidentally pressed the power button instead of the delete.  Luckily the Zenbook prompts first for an action, whether to Sleep, Hibernate, Shut Down or Do Nothing.

Impressively, after using it for almost a day, doing a lot of my photo editing and video watching, the Zenbook did not feel any warmer from the time I turned it on.  The metal surfaces all around the laptop must be doing a good job in distributing the heat.

At the end of the day, I am one happy ‘boy’.  I now can do my work more efficiently with the state of the art SSD hard drive and to top it all up, I have one of the best looking laptops around.  How cool is that!? Smile

Ah, not to forget… the bottom-line that everyone has been waiting for.. “how much of a hole will it burn in my wallet?!”  Well, if you really want to know, leave me a message!  Open-mouthed smile

IMG_2829
Zen: It is a way of being.
6 thoughts on “A way of being: Zen

Leave a Reply

